On the Cusp of a New Year

happy-new-year-annie-spratt

Photo: Annie Spratt, www.unsplash.com.

This week, millions (maybe billions) of people are setting new goals. Evaluating their past year. Deciding what went wrong, where they derailed, where they strayed from the path. They are listening to pep talks about setting new goals, finding purpose, channeling focus. They are joining groups and clubs.

And then there’s me.

Don’t get me wrong. In the past, I have occasionally written (tiny) lists of things I want to do. Usually, the lists are small because I want to focus on only a few major goals. Maybe six to eight. I never seem to find time to include everything I want to do in life.

But this week, somehow I am feeling. . .left behind? Irresponsible. Unspiritual. Lazy.

My problem is compounded by the fact that I have been away for two weeks from my usual routine–visiting family and generally making merry. Combined with several dark-thirty departures, late-night talks with family, and plenty of sugar, I am lost on another planet. The rest of the world seems to know where they are headed in 2017, while me. . .well, I am just wanting sleep. Like for the rest of 2017, please.

I don’t mean to glory in my lack of preparation. Or my lack of careful, thoughtful deliberation on what it is that I want to accomplish in 2017. I know I still need to re-evaluate this past year, make notes on areas in which I need to improve, and re-commit to doing just that.

But I have a feeling I am not alone in my attempts to get myself organized. I am certain I am not the only one who is struggling with a sense of purpose, a sense that everyone else has achieved the incredible feat of preparing their entire year in advance, complete with monthly, weekly, and daily goals. And 3×5 cards with Scripture verses to match their goals. For every day of the week. (Okay, I’m sorry. I’ll try to be nice.)

I am simply acknowledging that I do not have it all together. Forgive me. And if you feel the same way, you don’t have to feel any judgment from me.

Resolutions are tricky beasts. They offer hope, but then demand that you have the tenacity of a tardigrade, a.k.a. water bear, to accomplish them. (Look it up. That was my “learn something new every day” moment.) With a heart full of expectant joy, you plunge into your “to-do” list, only to find your excitement waning about…January 8.

In an article on the website Statistic Brain, I read that only 8% of people stick with their New Year’s resolutions.

Eight percent, people.

But if we all stayed where we were in January 2016, we would never know anything but defeat and failure. The same article from Statistic Brain states that people who make resolutions are ten times more likely to stick with them than if they never made resolutions.

I am sure by now you have heard all of the cliches about the new year giving us a chance to start over, offering us a fresh page, challenging us with its obstacles. So I will not repeat that here. But I will grab a pen and paper. And I will make my list.

I hope you will, too.

 

2 thoughts on “On the Cusp of a New Year

  1. Kandra says:

    Great thoughts. You are not alone… You echo the thoughts of many of us. You just say it so much better than we can! Thanks for sharing, and good luck with that list. I made one…A list of two. Is that even a list??? Off to work on adding some more resolutions. Happy trails!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

