When the Door Slams in your Face

martins-zemlickis-4739

Photo: Martins Zemlickis (www.unsplash.com).

 

You know that feeling.

The sound of the door slamming echoes up and down the hallway, ricocheting off the walls and ceiling.

This is it. The end. Nothing else you can do. Oh, you have tried. Again and again, it seems. You have pushed and pushed on that door. Banged on it. Yelled. Tried every key you can think of, but it’s still locked.

A hopeless, nameless dread overwhelms you as you stand there staring at the door handle. What now?

I think it’s safe to say that every person, at some point in life, has experienced the “slamming door” effect.

Another “No” in your quiet time with God.

Another polite, “Thank you for applying for this position. This letter is to inform you that this position has been filled.”

Another doctor saying, “There’s nothing more I can do.”

Another cold shoulder from that one person you want to reach for Christ.

Another no from your spouse. Your child. Your friend.

When God says no, what do you do?

 

I have been asking myself that question. How well do I respond to the “no” in my life, no matter what that may be?

Lately I have sensed that He is not asking me to give up completely. What He wants me to understand is that when the answer is “No,” when the door is slammed shut, and I stand there wondering why–He is still here.

I am learning that–

  • He may be opening another door. Oh, it may be not be the door I was wanting Him to open right now, but He does not want me to sit and pout.
  •  He wants me to see Him standing there, waiting. This is not really about the door, is it? He wants me to fellowship with Him while waiting.
  • He wants me to go on hoping and wishing and praying. To keep trusting that the right door will open for me at the right time.

What is the “no” in your life? Do not give up. Trust that He will either open the door someday, or lead you to another door, wide-open, waiting just for you.

4 thoughts on “When the Door Slams in your Face

  1. Amber says:

    Jess, You are so right that it’s about the relationship. He loves you and does have your best in mind! Sometimes it’s hard to see or understand how that can be in the middle of a “no”….but it’s there. I love ya’ and will be praying for you. (The song For My Good and for His Glory is always an encouragement to me as well as A Better Yes during times like these.)
    As a side note, I read Greg your article this morning and his lone comment was, “She can write!”

    Liked by 1 person

    • gypsychick says:

      Thanks, Amber! I appreciate you taking the time to read the blog and to comment (and share with Bro. Greg!). 🙂 Your notes are always a blessing to me. I’ll have to listen to those songs again. 🙂

      Like

  2. Kendra says:

    This is exactly what I needed to hear. Even the preaching I’ve been under the past week has been directed to my heart, and this really complimented it.
    Thanks for doing something you love to be a blessing g to others.

    Liked by 1 person

    • gypsychick says:

      I am happy to hear that God used this post to speak to you. The “no’s” in our lives are not easy. But I’m thankful God teaches us through them. Thanks for stopping by, Kendra!

      Like

Leave a Reply

